Freaky Franchise Sweep Championships for 2012

This is the first part of a six part-series highlighting each team in the OCWA and their season. In this installment, we cover the National Champion Freaky Franchise.

The Freaky Franchise has won the NWLA end-of-year tournament, and thus, have been voted the #1 team in the NWLA. The championship only adds to the banners that the Franchise have collected over the season. Starting with the Opening Day Tourney, they collected banners from the NWLA Tournament in Ohio, the OCWA Championship, and finally, the NWLA Team of the Year.

Freaky Franchise captain Ryan Bush drafted the same exact team as last year, and over the offseason, added Justin Tomkins via trade. The team was regularly put at the top of the power rankings for the season, and they were ranked ninth in the nation to begin the season.

The Franchise seemed to have a little trouble with the first game of the year, and needed extras to close out The Plainguys. After that, they breezed through the tournament, outscoring their opponents 22-1, and winning the Opening Day Tournament.

As their success continued through the regular season, the Freaky Franchise committed to play in the NWLA Tournament and the London Wiffleball Tournament in Ohio. The Franchise headed into the wiffle-filled weekend with a 12-0 record. The London Wiffleball Tournament was definitely a new experience for the team, and it showed. They lost their opening game, but seemed to find their groove, and ended up 3-1 in pool play. They earned the 22nd seed, but could not advance past the second round. However, that was not the tournament that they came to Ohio to win. Later that night, the Franchise would begin pool play for the NWLA Tournament, and by the end of the night, they were 2-1, with mercy-rule wins over GBL and SWBL, and a no-hit loss against the WWL. They finished the night with a +21 run differential, good for the number one seed in the tournament. The next day, they would mercy-rule the GBL again, and then, became locked in what seemed to be an endless battle against WWL, but eventually came out on top after a walk-off, 31-29. They would then beat TBW, and advanced to the championship. They would meet TBW again, and after losing the first game, Ryan Bush shut down the opposition, and the Franchise would walk off to win the First Annual NWLA Tournament.

They did not stop there, as they continued their rampage through the OCWA, finishing the season at 20-0. They would gain the number one seed in the OCWA Playoffs, and would sweep the Tampa Bay Turtles to advance to the Championship. They faced off against The Plainguys, and after splitting the first two games, they would win in nail-biting fashion in the final game, and won their second consecutive OCWA Championship.

After adding the NWLA Team of the Year banner, the Freaky Franchise now has a full trophy case. Team Captain and MVP Ryan Bush put together one of his best seasons ever, but with the help of the key players on his team, they reached heights that no OCWA team has ever seen.